It’s a small dance world, afterall

Back at my old studio in Alabama, our artistic director and his wife, our ballet mistress, used to say the dance world was a small one.

Both were amazing dancers in the day, and danced with some of the top companies in the country.

Whenever one of their professional aspiring students went to summer intensives, they always met teachers or professionals who knew them.

Funny, I never thought about it applying to a recreational, adult ballet dancer.

And then I moved 1,200 miles to New Mexico.

Turns out, the teacher I’ve had for the three regular classes I’ve had used to teach two of the girls I used to dance with back, who were sisters and were my last two stage wives in the productions I was in before moving west.

One of my fellow adult students near my age who was in class also knew one of my fellow adult students (and teacher) from my old school back home. They were evidently at an adult intensive together in New York a few years ago.

So yeah, it is a small dance world afterall.

As for class Monday, I still continue to struggle relearning steps and combinations I haven’t done in a while.

And this week’s class was a small one, three ladies and me.

That meant there were a lot of corrections. That includes old ones, such as spotting on turns.

I’m also having to re-educate myself on arms during tour jetes and saute chats. My glissades, though, and saute chats were better. And I’m finally getting those cabrioles to the back.

Barre work continues to be interesting. My mind and body are still trying to keep up with the pace. I don’t mind though.

I’m almost 51 … and I’ve been out of dance for a year.\

I couldn’t rely on my neighbor since there were only four of us, and when we switch to the side not facing the mirror, yup, that was a challenge. But maybe it will make me less reliant on my neighbor.

And petite allegro was fun on Monday. Yeah, it’s still my strength, the one part of class where I can somewhat redeem myself.

Health-wise, I’m glad I’m back.

I’ve had three good workouts in the past four days (three classes on Saturday and Monday, followed by two miles of walking around the track today).

I’m now down to maybe one or two sodas a week (and those are Coke Zero).

Before I got the edict handed down by the doc, it was six cans of regular Dr. Pepper a day.

I haven’t had  a soda at work in almost a month. Now, it’s pretty much water and green tea.

And I might eat red meat once a week now.

I’m still trying to work my way into that Mediterranean diet the doc recommends.

I’ve cut down sugar tremendously.

And I’ve cut back on the portions.

I’ve decided to work toward being a little leaner and healthier by Nutcracker auditions in August.

That’s another reason I like the new studio. Adults do audition for character roles.

Maybe that gives me another goal to work toward.

I would like to be in one more Nutcracker before I hang up the shoes.

I didn’t know my last one a couple of years ago was going to be my last one (I didn’t know I would be making a radical move).

I need some closure … lol

Leave a Reply

