Longing to restart the journey

I’m too old. I’m too fat. The drive is just too far.

Those are among the reasons I haven’t been to a dance class in more than three months.

I stopped going to the pre-pro school in Albuquerque I briefly attended because of the lack of consistency. You never knew if anyone was going to show up.

The motivation to continue to go just wasn’t there. I made the decision to end my dance journey.

But my love for ballet, and dance in general, never disappeared.

The truth is, I’ve missed the barre and centre work. I miss feeling the music and moving.

I miss the combinations.

I miss the healthier lifestyle I live. I miss the one place I could go and de-stress.

I plan on going back in the next couple of weeks to the adult program that I tried during the summer a couple of times.

I don’t go with any goals, even though I love performing.

I’m three weeks away from 50. I will do what I feel my body can do.

I will just go and enjoy class.

My dance journey is in transition.

I’m going to look for other ways to express my love for the art form.

I may use this blog to discuss all things dance.

As a writer, I’m thinking of writing  young adult novel about a boy’s dance journey, in part because I feel there are very few books that cover the subject.

There are plenty of books about girls pursuing ballet dreams, but very few about boys doing so.

The same can be said for television shows featuring young dancers. Bunheads was a favorite. The Dance Moms shows not so much.

Male dancers in either play only minor roles.

Maybe that will also be featured in this blog.

 

 

3 responses to “Longing to restart the journey

  • Naomi

    Stay with it Scott. You know there is nothing else quite like ballet for body and soul. Your body wants it…your mind fears and your heart falters. I am 77 years old, studying 4 classes per week. I need to rest a lot to do it. You are a teenager in life’s mid-term. Be what you are now. Don’t look back. Get the classes you need and move on.

  • Basia

    Keep at it…it’ll make your smile come back 😊

  • asher

    Go for it! Nothing transforms body and soul like class.

    Also, if you’d like a beta-reader for your novel-in-the-works, I’d be happy to give it (or chapters, or whatever suits your approach to writing) a read when the time comes.

Leave a Reply

