Curtain falls on Sleeping Beauty

It seems so surreal.

It seems theater week flies by faster and faster each performance.

Three shows. Two days. So much fun.

The glitches, the problems we had during the tech rehearsals and dress rehearsal? They disappeared once the curtain went up for real.

My spur of the moment Act III role? I eared praise from the boss, our artistic director. I pretty much had my Act I part down.

All three shows were amazing, from the dancing, to the costumes, to the dancing.

I’ve mentioned before that this has been an odd year at the ballet school. A lot of our best dancers moved up the ladder to more well known companies and schools, or graduated and went to college,

We have a much younger group of company dancers than we’ve had in years,

But you would not have known it this weekend. Despite having to rush to the finish because of wedding delays, this was one of the coolest productions I’ve ever been in.

It was three acts, the longest performance I believe we’ve done. But it was really nicely done.

My mind is tired from the week. So are my legs,

Withdrawals have already set in.

Don’t know if I’ll be in the fall production again, but it’s still months off.

Going to use the next few months to see if I can’t polish what I can as a dancer before I get to old.

I love performing. I hope I have a few left in me.sbfinale

Leave a Reply

