Ran into a backdrop, plowed into a tech guy in the wings, and was a fairy in class, yeah, an eventful day.

I know, a long headline. Theater week is turning into a fun one.

Tonight was “learn the Act 3 part I didn’t have until Monday” night.

I am a boatman in Act 3 who ferries the prince and the Lilac Fairy to Aurora so the prince can wake her up.

First time I’ve ever gone into theater week not knowing a part, Didn’t know the music, didn’t know my cue, didn’t know the pace of motion.

There were some glitches tonight. First run through, I was too much upstage and a backdrop came down on me. Second time, I plowed into a tech guy in the wings as I was exiting the stage, While humorous, I don’t count that as a mistake since I was already in the wings.

The next four (or was it five?) run throughs were pretty much fairly flawless. I’m no where near stressed out with dress rehearsal tomorrow night. Hard to believe the performances are almost here.

My Act I part of a court man, I pretty much have down, It’s not the most complicated part I’ve ever had, but Sleeping Beauty is turning into a lot of fun.

Speaking of the fun, we ended up working a little bit on the performance in the open class this morning. There is a scene in Act I where all the fairies come out and do first arabesque and then a pas de bouree and pirouettes in order in a line.

Not all of the fairies were there, so our artistic director drafted everyone in class to be fairies, including the guys, We spent about a half hour on the combination.

When you’re a male dancer in ballet, sometimes it’s good to have a sense of humor … especially when you’re asked to be a fairy,

It was fun and I “felt pretty.” It was a hysterical,sbatc3

The photo is from the wings, just before my time to rehearse.

4 responses to “Ran into a backdrop, plowed into a tech guy in the wings, and was a fairy in class, yeah, an eventful day.

Leave a Reply

