Missing the tights

<p>It seems like an odd title for a blog.</p>
<p>But my dance journey this summer has been an odd one, not quite what I was hoping.</p>
<p>As I’ve shared in previous blogs, I’ve been taking classes at a new studio. I had planned to take classes at my regular studio this summer, too.<br />
Then, a budget crisis changed those plans.<br />
I work in the not so stable newspaper industry. We’ve been forced to take unpaid furlough days, which hit hard on the paycheck and force a few decisions to tighten the belt, budget-wise.<br />
Translation: I dance when I can, not when I want to.<br />
I’ve already paid for the classes at the new studio. It’s also about 15 miles closer, which cuts down on the trips to the gas pump.<br />
As I’ve mentioned before, I take adult classes there. I appreciate the adult camraderie in the jazz and ballet classes I take.<br />
And the jazz class is growing on me because of the choreography at the end of class.<br />
But the ballet class is too basic. Both classes, really, are too informal.<br />
Because we rarely spend time in center and don’t really do combinations, it doesn’t seem like a real ballet class.<br />
Translation: I miss the ballet classes at my regular studio.<br />
I hope to take an open class there tomorrow. It’s more than halfway through their summer session, so I plan on just taking drop-in classes.<br />
As far as the title of this blog, the dress code at the new place for adults is loose. The women wear yoga pants, warm-up pants, shorts.<br />
And I’ve never felt comfortable conforming to code when others are not. I’m not a dance attire rebel<br />
Although they aren’t strict with adults at the regular school, the attire is more dancer-attire.<br />
And I miss that.<br />
Because to me, it’s an example of how serious they take ballet classes.<br />
And I miss going full-out in ballet. Jazz has been fun, but it is not my dance love.<br />
Ballet is my dance love.<br />
I miss pulling on my tights and dancing full out.<br />
I’ve worn warmups and shorts at the new place, and that’s comfortable.<br />
But, in a way, I feel like it’s restricting my movement.<br />
Hence the title to my blog.<br />
I want to dance ballet full out. I want to feel free in my movement.<br />
So yeah, I miss my tights.</p>

2 responses to “Missing the tights

  • ballettrist

    I’m sorry to hear about the unpaid days. That sucks. Especially in an industry where proofreaders and editors are essential but treated as dispensable. On another note, maybe you’ll inspire your new classmates to consider more traditional ballet attire? I’ve seen this happen in one class. It’s the tights-showing-off-dancerly-leg-muslces effect.

  • ballettrist

    See, I misspelled muscles. Darn it!

Leave a Reply

