All that jazz …

I swear, I think jazz is growing on me.

It will never take the place of ballet. It still ranks behind hip-hop.

But I didn’t stumble around nearly as much tonight. There were elements of ballet tonight that helped. I drew praise for my chaine turns. And we did a combination at the end of class that had pirouettes,

I didn’t feel nearly as out of place as I did last week.

And I was asked by one of the ladies in class if I were going to be taking jazz there in the fall because they “need a guy in class.”

We’ll see. I still find some elements in jazz a bit strange (I don’t recall it being that way during my teenage years), but it’s been OK so far.

This wasn’t the dance-apalooza day that I planned.

My soreness from Pilates on Saturday remained through the morning, so I didn’t go my regular studio for the open class (I have yet to go so far this summer). I plan on going Wednesday. I MISS a ballet class full out.

You don’t get that at the new place. It’s an hour-long and mainly a beginner class, We only had 15 minutes of center work tonight, and only did jumps and worked on facings.

This would be the type of class I loathed at the regular studio … but the adult dancer vibe is really cool in this class.

There were more people in class tonight. I was surrounded by women of all ages, from 20ish to 60. There are all body types in there, from thin to overweight. There was even a pregnant lady in class. How cool is that?

This class doesn’t adhere to dress code. Yoga pants, warmup pants and leggings are pretty much what you’ll see with t-shirts and tank tops.

And sense half of the room had never taken ballet before … messing up was no big deal.

Both classes, jazz and ballet, are full of women who don’t care how they look, how bad they mess up. Being perfect, well, is non-existent.

They are there to have fun. They’re not worried about impressing an artistic director or a school director … or even being on stage.

While I still prefer ballet full out and love performing, this is an element of class I have totally missed.

6 responses to “All that jazz …

  • RO

    I get that there are certain aspects of class at a bigger and more professional studio that you like but can also loathe. I, for one, hated the beginner class at my dance studio because it was just so, SO slow.. There wasn’t any challenge in it other than working on the basics, but the group wasn’t very fun either.
    However, I do agree that ‘not caring’ can be really relaxing sometimes. You don’t always have to be on top of your game, and you don’t need to be as close to perfection as you can be. Although that is nice, I still love the feeling of a ‘real’ ballet class. Together with the dress code, strictness and sweat.

  • RO

    I get that there are certain aspects of class at a bigger and more professional studio that you like but can also loathe. I, for one, hated the beginner class at my dance studio because it was just so, SO slow.. There wasn’t any challenge in it other than working on the basics, but the group wasn’t very fun either.
    However, I do agree that ‘not caring’ can be really relaxing sometimes. You don’t always have to be on top of your game, and you don’t need to be as close to perfection as you can be. Although that is nice, I still love the feeling of a ‘real’ ballet class. Together with the dress code, strictness and sweat.

    • JustScott

      I love “real ballet” classes more, but I’ve come to appreciate an atmosphere of an adult class. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve never really minded being in a class with teenage company dancers. There is just a different vibe to it.
      Tomorrow, hopefully, I’ll be pushed in a “real” ballet class.

  • The Dancing Rider

    I love the sound of the freedom. But then, I also really like the old-school strictness I had in my rec. ballet class ( more of a pre-pro thing) in my 20’s.

    Do you find jazz pirouette-style turns strange? With the jazz-position free leg?

    • JustScott

      We actually did a ballet pirouette yesterday. But I’m finding a lot of jazz really strange.

      • The Dancing Rider

        I took a jazz class, too, in my 20’s — could not get into it. However, I am finding that I am really enjoying the little dance we are currently learning — it’s a combo of really easy classical ballet moves and contemporary moves. A lot of fun, and feeds both my “rebel” and traditional sides. 😉

Leave a Reply

