We’re not in Kansas anymore, Toto!

My two week break from ballet ended this afternoon.

My great experiment with attending classes at a new studio began.

I had planned to go to the open class at my regular studio this morning before trying out the new studio, but I decided to sleep in before trying out hour-long ballet and jazz classes at the new place.

As I drove to the new place, the old nerves came back. Just how welcoming our adults there, especially a guy. What would the teachers be like? What if the classes … you know … for a lack of a better term, really sucked?

I was amazed when I drove into the parking lot. There wasn’t a parking space to be found. The place was amazingly packed … it was overrun with children and parents. The receptionist was cheerful, which helped.

The classroom was small, but I was pleasant;y surprised for a summer adult class there was actually a good number of adults with a wide range of ages. I wasn’t shocked to be the only guy. I was expecting it. But the women in the class were encouraging and nice.

The biggest was the teacher, Melissa B. I’ve had her before at my regular studio!

She taught there last summer, and I made up in a class she taught, but wasn’t on staff there in the fall.

Trust me, when you are the only adult male dancer in a sea of strange people, it’s comforting to see a familiar face.

The class was more of a beginner class. There were a couple of ladies who had never had ballet before. There were a few of us who had danced before.

I’m not a fan of slow, beginner classes. But I enjoyed Melissa B’s classes last summer. And I enjoyed it today. She was very hands on with the beginners in class, which I appreciate because I know they can be completely overwhelmed (which is why a lot of adult beginners don’t come back for a second class).

The class made me realized how much I missed the camraderie of an adult class. I haven’t had a problem with dancing with company wonders, but there is something about being in a we’re all in the class together type of class.

And, I’ll be honest, I believe I like being one of the best students in a class every once in a while.

Now jazz class, that was a different adventure altogether. Our teacher has a Brooklyn-type of accent. It was very more cardio and stretchy, for lack of a better term.

I felt like a bull in a China shop. This was the first real jazz class I’d been in since high school when we were dancing to music by “Tears for Fear” and doing the Neutron Dance to the Pointer Sisters.

We did moves tonight that are very hard for an old, straight dude like me to do (we did a thing called a hip roll and flicked our wrists quite a bit … had to sacrifice my pride … don’t tell anybody, but I actually liked the dance we did at the end … lol).

To be honest, jazz is probably not my thing. But the interaction will fellow adult dancers will probably keep me coming. About half of them were also in the ballet class,

I was asked by one of my classmates if I was going to keep taking classes in the fall.

Told her I had signed up for fall classes.

Right now, it’s an experiment. We’ll see.

But it was a good start.

After how the year ended at my regular school, it was a refreshing atmosphere to be in.

I really enjoyed it.

3 responses to “We’re not in Kansas anymore, Toto!

  • RO

    I can see why you liked this class! Nice teacher, nice group feeling with people who are actually around your own age, and…… being the best for a change!! You are good, we already knew that, but in this class you can really shine 🙂
    Good for you!!

  • ballettrist

    So good to read that venturing into a new studio was such a positive experience for you. Jazz can be fun, especially with friends — you can really let loose in a way that’s impossible in ballet. P.S. I’ve loved reading your blog for a few months now and thought I’d finally say hi. 🙂

    • JustScott

      Thanks for saying hi. Jazz is different, and I can see how you can let loose, which I need to do more of, I think! Ballet might be a little too entrenched in me.

Leave a Reply

