The deal is done

It felt a little strange walking into another studio.

It’s about 15 minutes closer to home. It’s what the artistic director at my regular, pre-pro school calls a “Little Miss Susie” dance studio.

I paid the registration fee to cover the summer and the entire coming year should I decide to keep taking classes there. I’ve signed up for adult ballet and jazz in back to back classes on Monday afternoons. That’s in addition to the two-three classes a week I’ll be taking at my regular school.

My guess is the level of training is no where near the caliber I get at my regular studio. But I am completely blown away by the choices they have for adult dancers: Ballet, jazz, tap, hip-hop and lyrical. To be honest, I’d love to take tap if I didn’t have to work on the night it is offered during the regular school year.

How extensive is their adult program? The Monday night adult ballet class has a waiting list. So, if after taking class there this summer I decide to continue my dance journey there, I’d be on a waiting list for the style I really love.

I’ve signed up for jazz, but I really haven’t done that style (except for a few weeks a couple of years ago) since high school. So it should be really interesting.

I love my regular school, don’t get me wrong. But I think it will be nice to be in a couple of classes where I don’t feel so much out of place … well, I’m a guy who takes dance, so I’m pretty much going to be a little out of place … but it would be nice to be in a class where the majority of dancers are over 18 every once in a while.

That doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate being pushed in a class full of company wonders. That still has its place in my dance journey.

5 responses to “The deal is done

Leave a Reply

