Trying another studio disloyal?

I’ve been taking ballet classes at the same school for the past eight years, but this summer I’m considering taking a ballet class or jazz class at a studio in a town a little closer to home (along with a couple of classes at my regular studio).

I’m considering it for a couple of reasons. No. 1, it is closer and will save me some on gas. No. 2, I honestly think I need a little change of pace.

I have no intention of leaving the ballet school I’ve called home for so many years, but the adult dancers seem to be getting fewer to almost non-existent in the morning open classes I take. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy being in a class full of company wonders and I enjoy the pace. But I sort of miss the camaraderie of an actual adult class.

So the possibility is strong I’ll split the time between two studios this summer. Depending on how things go this summer, I might do the same during the regular year.

Part of me feels a little disloyal. There are people at the school I’ve called home who are like family;

As far as how things are going now, we’ve put the finishing touches on the school sketch dance. Only two more weeks before we perform it on stage. And it will be put on video,

I’m beginning to get a better handle on the dance. I finally got the timing down from the transition of the sissonnes-slide step to the saute basque turns, but I’m still a little sloppy during the part of the dance where we come forward alternating between en de hors and en de dans (hope I spelled that right) pirouettes. And for some reason, right after we come out of a tour jete and do step grande jetes to the right, I step on the wrong foot (I actually get it right on the left side).

It’s amazing fun, but rehearsing multiple times tonight has wiped me out,

4 responses to “Trying another studio disloyal?

  • legalballerina

    Go for it. It will be good for your training. You learn and will grow. Just be discreet. Only judge in private. πŸ˜‰

    • Dancescribe

      I registered for classes at the other studio today, Felt strange going into another studio. Signed up for a ballet class and a jazz class, which I haven’t done since I was in high school.

  • RO

    I think you should go for it! Although I get what you’re saying when you’re talking about it feeling disloyal. I have the same with my dance school. I would love to see what else is out there, but I am also very loyal to my dance school of 5 years now. You won’t know unless you try! πŸ˜‰

    • Dancescribe

      I know. It’s not like I’m going to stop taking classes at my regular school. I’ll still take more classes there, but I think it’s good to try something different every once in a while.

Leave a Reply

