Confidence, musicality and jetes

Jete, coupe, assemble’ seems like a pretty easy combination, right?

My jetes have never been as clean as I’d want them to be, but they are improving.

Well, tonight the bombshell was dropped as we were learning parts of our school sketch (recital) dance. We’re about 90 percent of the way through, it’s kind of hard to describe except that it’s set to Requiem for a Dream (from Lord of the Rings: The Twin Towers) and includes elements of adagio, petite allegro and grande allegro with a lot of cool steps that I love (tour jetes, pirouettes, sissonnes, Russian pas de chats, ect…).

And despite the fact that some of the combinations are a little complicated and advanced (for me at least), I think I’ve done pretty well so far … the key phrase being so far,

So far, we’ve done all of the steps together as a group.

Then the bombshell was dropped.

Evidently, I have a short solo part where I come front and center. The girls split off to the sides with their own little short combination.

I come front with the jete, coupe, assemble’ right and left combination.

That means upping my game in the next month in three areas that need work: Confidence, musicality and jetes.

I found I do much better in a group. When it’s me out there, the confidence drops. I did see this coming. When you’re the only male in a dance, there comes that point in time where you become the center of attention. And that hasn’t happened since I was in a pas de deux in an in-studio performance.

And this time I’ll be on the same stage where we performed Cinderella this past weekend. And we’ll be in front of a larger audience than the one I performed in a pas de deux in front of.

My musicality is improving. It’s much better than I thought … but when I’m nervous I rush things, and when I think too much I go too slow. It’s so much easier for me to stay on the music when I’m in the group.

Now, if I can just clean up those jetes.

You’d think I’d have a little more confidence considering the roles I’ve performed in Nutcracker and a few of the other ballets I’ve been in.

But this is by far the most complicated dance I’ve been in. And this one puts me front and center.

It’s a fun dance, but at the same time, a little scary.

9 responses to “Confidence, musicality and jetes

  • RO

    Now there’s a challenge! You’ll do fine, I just know it! I see how this all is a bit scary, a solo really puts you out there, especially if it’s with moves that you’re not a 100% sure of just yet. However, don’t stress on it. You’ll succeed and you’ll be the bomshell of the performance!! πŸ˜‰

  • This Life & Times

    Like you said, this is a wonderful opportunity to “up your game”. Do your best and I’m sure you’ll surprise yourself with how well it works out. πŸ™‚

  • robin

    Hooray – go you! Just have fun πŸ™‚

  • The Dancing Rider

    First, that’s a GREAT musical selection. A solo is fantastic! This is such a good opportunity for you, and may lead to other solos! It’s so exiciting!

    (I can understand scary. I was aIways was only solo in skating — so I get it.)

    The thing is, you know you can do it. You’ve got about a month. Clean up what you can to the best of your ability, work on sticking with the music. And then the week before, just FEEL and enjoy all your steps!

    I don’t know how it is for others, or other dancers. For me, I found that in skating there was no use in continuing to drill right up to performance day. That was after having done it that way several times, only to find if I let up about a week prior, I could just focus on the feeling and enjoyment of the piece.

    So excited for you. I bet you are going be very happy with how well you do! πŸ™‚

  • Dance Pundit.

    Best of luck!!! I can understand your anxiety. Practice until it feels natural and then practice some more. I am sure you will be great.

Leave a Reply

