Getting a “good job” from the artistic director

Somehow the words “good job” from the artistic director makes it all worth it.

I had a small part compared to others, but I had a fun time. And it was an honor to be in such an amazing production. I got to perform with so many people so much more talented than I. Hard to believe we’re done.

The girl who danced Cinderella was gorgeous. The two girls who danced the step sisters role were hilarious. And the friend of mine who is my age who danced the role of the evil stepmother might have stolen the show. She was incredible.

And I was in complete awe of the guest artist who played the prince. He was amazingly athletic. If I could jump as high, do tours like him, or as many pirouettes, I’d be happy. But to do what he did, I probably need to be 20 years younger, and a few pounds lighter.

But I was pleased with what I was able to do. Thought I did well with my pantomime. Thought my gestures were big enough. I hit my cues and the last two shows, I thought my dance steps were as good as they’ve been since we started rehearsing in January.

The sets were beautiful, the costumes were amazing. And the choreography was completely mind blowing … especially the part involving the little girls who were our “clock dancers”. They raced around an elaborate huge clock carrying roman numerals in a circle. From the wings it looked extremely awesome.

Hard to believe it’s over so soon. Withdrawals have set in.

Fortunately, there’s the school sketch dance in a little more than a month, where I’ll be dancing far more than I did during Cinderella.

I’ll post more pics when I get them. Image

2 responses to “Getting a “good job” from the artistic director

  • The Dancing Rider

    Beautiful picture. What nice performances you had! That is great, getting such a compliment from the artistic director! And to have your dance steps be there, and really good, for you when it counted is awesome. Frosting on the cake is seeing all the other dancers, too. Good job, so proud of you with all your schedules, work, school, rehearsals — you made it, pulled it off for yourself, and it sounds like everyone did well.

    I understand about the withdrawals! I absolutely had those every single time I tested or performed in skating!

    Looking forward to hearing about the sketch dance! 🙂 Congrats again!

  • RO

    Wow that sounds amazing!! So glad to hear you had such a nice time. And getting that compliment from the artistic director.. WOW! That must have felt soooo good 😉

    Hope to hear about that sketch soon!

Leave a Reply

