There are bourees in this dance?

That’s what I was thinking as we put the final steps in for our school sketch dance at the end of May.

Second thought? Guys aren’t supposed to do bourees.

There is a part of the dance where we come together in a triangle. As the lone male dancer in a group of 10, I am the center mark person,

We come on stage in groups, we do steps in our groups and then we come together in a triangle before the final steps (grande allegro).

At the end of our particular group’s steps, if we are not on our spot, we bouree to get there.

I did not protest. It actually makes since. And for me, it’s only about four or so, at most.

And really, as we were doing them, it actually looked cool.

And the school sketch crowd usually isn’t the cultured crowd that will see us perform Cinderella.

So I doubt very many people in the audience will be thinking: “Isn’t that a girl’s step.”

My timing was a little off tonight, in part because I was thinking my way through it. When I do that, I’m either too slow, or too fast. But the steps are doable and amazingly fun.

I honestly believe I’m looking forward to this dance more than I am performing in Cinderella.

That’s not to say I’m not looking forward to Cinderella. I am.

And we’re four weeks away from bringing it to the stage. It may be the most challenging story ballet we’ve ever done.

It’s the first full length ballet outside of Nutcracker that we’ve performed. We’ve done Romeo and Juliet, Dracula, Firebird and Billy the Kid, but we did shortened versions that lasted about 45 minutes.

Cinderella is two hours and two acts, although my time on stage is about 10 minutes. It’s going to be an amazing production.

And our rehearsals are going to really get intense leading up to production week.

 

2 responses to “There are bourees in this dance?

  • RO

    Ohhhh only four weeks left!! How exciting! I’m looking forward to your stories and pictures. I recognize that timing thing, I usually have that too when I overthink some steps.

  • The Dancing Rider

    Will be reading with interested whenever you can write! School sketch sounds really fun!

Leave a Reply

