Getting rid of the on-stage jitters

Never fails, I’m always a bundle of nerves during the first full run through on the VBC stage, especially during Chinese.

We had Act II rehearsal tonight. I thought I did OK for the first night, I wasn’t quite as sharp as I want to be, and my jumps were not as high as I would have preferred. But there were no major mistakes, so I’ll take it. I know things will get better from here on out now that I’m used to being back in the theater.

I’m a lot more comfortable, and a little more confident after the second run through. There’s been a slight change in the choreography, but that’s not really a big deal.

I thought it was a good rehearsal overall. Our Sugar Plum and cavalier are going to rock the grande pas. And the guest artist we have doing Russian can really leap. It’s going to be fun to watch him perform.

We have Act I tomorrow, which means I switch to party dad and work the magical bed during battle scene. It’s a totally different vibe from Act II, which to be honest is more fun for me.

Get to sleep in a little tomorrow, but have my last final of the semester at noon.

Dress rehearsal is Wednesday … and then it’s seven shows in four days starting Thursday.

####

One of the traditions we have during Nutcracker is gifting. The kids exchange gifts with other kids who are in the same dance with them.

As an adult, I really don’t expect a gift, but it melts my heart when I get one, I do confess.

Last year, one of the Chinese girls gave me a small Chinese soup bowl with scented soap. A couple of years before, one of my party “daughters” gave me a Nutcracker ornament that hangs from my tree each year now. Tonight, one of my Chinese girls gave me a box with candy. It’s pretty cool.

#####

My biggest challenge may not be on stage, but sharing a small dressing room with the rest of the party dads, the guy playing Mr. Stalhbaum, the guy playing Drosselmeyer and Mother Ginger. I’m the only one with a costume change, which means trying to keep up with clothes, costumes and shoes, while trying to work around eight or nine other people.

Of course, by the time Act II is over, it’ll be cleared out except for me and the dad who plays Mother Ginger.

I will try to post pics by the time we’re done. Didn’t have a whole lot of time tonight.

4 responses to “Getting rid of the on-stage jitters

Leave a Reply

