Ending class to applause

Improvise. Do your own thing.

That was what Mr. O wanted us to do for the final combination from the diagonal.

I’ve never been one to fully be able to do that until today’s. I was at the end of the line.

I chose to do a ton be pas de bouree assemble’ front tour en’lair combination that ends with a pirouette following the third tour.

Mr. O praised my attempt to land my double pirouette at the end of the combination on the right side.

“If you ended the pirouette down on your knee, that would look really cool,” he told me.

Challenge accepted.

I ended the combination down on my knee on the left side.

My majority company dancing classmates applauded.

It was a really cool feeling.

It was once again a really good class. The petite allegro combinations were a bit tricky, but I was able to do them even though I was a bit sloppy.

But my turns continue to be pretty solid. I did quite a few clean doubles today. Maybe I’m breaking through.

Making my day even better? Mr. O asked me if I wanted to be in a piece he is putting together in January (it will be a country music-ballet piece, not a fan of country, but I so want to be in the piece).

Oh yeah, I’m doing soldier doll in Nutcracker party scene rehearsal on Sunday (in the absence of the guest artist performing it). Wish me luck. The steps seem reasonably doable. I’ve just got to be on time with the music.

3 responses to “Ending class to applause

  • This Life & Times

    Ooo, well done! I wish I could say my turns are solid, but I’m not quite there yet πŸ™‚ I am very intrigued by the “country music ballet piece”. It’s not my kind of music either but it sounds like fun. πŸ™‚

  • RO

    Woww that sounds awesome!!!! How cool to be able to improvise.. our teachers never let us do that. I would love to, however, because I always feel like I could do some real dancing when I’m being given the chance!
    Good luck with the soldier doll routine πŸ™‚

  • The Dancing Rider

    Great job, Dancescribe! AND an invitation to be in a piece! Have fun with soldier doll – what a nice opportunity! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

