Sluggish Saturday

I left last Saturday’s class thinking I was on the verge of a pirouette breakthrough.

The breakthrough didn’t happen at all this week.

So I thought, maybe today.

Only I felt a little weighty in class today. And it really didn’t help my cause that Mrs. O gave us a much different class than we normally have. The “safe” combinations that we usually do, the kind I use to build confidence, weren’t there.

We tried things today in class I’ve never seen before such as a pique kick-right, pique kick-left, tonbe inside turn, outside turn combination. Where did that come from. She even used “think Rockettes” as an example for the kicks, but still remember your ballet technique … oy!

Amazingly, I think my inside turns were about the best thing I did during that combination.

And we did a pirouette from fifth drill, where we did them over and over. Pirouettes from fifth aren’t my favorite. I tried to concentrate on the basics and SPOT, but I was forcing my spot and the music was moving faster that I could think and prepare. It was a mess.

When you are the only “adult recreational dancer” in class with company kids, you come to expect classes like that from-time-to-time.

The silver lining from today’s class? There wasn’t a thing in class that we did that I couldn’t do, albeit yet sloppy. And many of the company kids were struggling like I was.

I just want a class where I’m spot (pun may or may not be intended) on. And one where the majority of my pirouettes are clean and multiple.

2 responses to “Sluggish Saturday

  • The Dancing Rider

    Doing it all in class is huge. It was done. That’s the important part. Sounded great, too. Love the “do this, but also make sure you retain your technique.” Right. I’d be in a puddle on the studio floor. Impressed by what you do.

    Btw, I hear you on, for me, “skills”, disappearing. I just “got” the idea of pique turn into sous sous (uncertain how to spell that), and right into another pique turn. Tried these yesterday again, have class coming up Friday, and suddenly can’t do it again. Grrrrr.

  • RO

    Aaahhhhwwww pirouettes from 5th…. .Grrr!!

Leave a Reply

