Two-a-day Mondays

Today marked the beginning of the season, and the school year.

And my year got off to a physically and mentally demanding start. My Monday dance schedule? 9:30 a.m. Open Intermediate with Mr. O, and company level with Dawn C, whom I’ve had as a substitute, but never a regular teacher. They go along with Open advance with Mr. O on Wednesday at 9:30 a.m., and company level with Mrs. O on Saturday mornings at 10.

To be honest, I really can’t tell a big difference between Mr. O’s intermediate and advanced level open classes. Usually, the intermediate class has another adult or two, while the advanced are usually me and company kids, along with a couple of teachers who dance, and our two new male dancers hired to perform with the company.

Mr. O’s first few classes of the year are always of the “boot camp,” get you into shape variety. Today, he started off a little slow and basic, I was beginning to think “what gives?”

But then, it was like someone push the hyper-drive button. I think I was gasping for air the last 20 minutes or so, but man it was fun. I think I danced better during the most physically exhausting parts of class. My performance during grande allegro was about as good as its been.

As for Ms. Dawn’s class? Not as physically demanding, but a little more complicated with the combinations. I’ll be honest, it may have been more complicated because I’m not used to having her classes. I’m geared for how Mr.O, Mrs. O and Susan K teach. I’m sure I’ll catch on with her class, but it may take me some time.

Overall, I thought I had two pretty good classes. Technique could have been better. And the progress I’ve made with petite allegro didn’t show today. And my pirouettes, well, they sucked. But I’m still trying.

And today was my first class with the new company guys, not counting their tryout in a free class at the end of last school year (I believe I mentioned that in a previous post). They’re pretty good, but I believe they struggled a little trying to get used to new teachers (who doesn’t? right?).

And I’ll be honest, I loved having them there. I love dancing with the company girls, but I’ll be honest, having a couple of guys who are pretty good in class really push me to a higher level. Hope they love the competition from the old guy. I missed that over the summer.

2 responses to “Two-a-day Mondays

  • Rael

    Nice to hear about your classes on Monday! It seems like you did pretty well πŸ™‚ It’s always nice to get fired up a bit by some worthy competition πŸ˜‰

  • The Dancing Rider

    These two classes sounded really good! It is interesting to note that *everyone* has trouble with new teachers. Even the company guys. And I’m glad you have a couple, as this will be so good for your dancing. Great entry.

Leave a Reply

