Not a good day for Trocks to be watching

A couple of guys who’ve danced with Les Ballet Trockedero Monte Carlo stopped by our studio while we were doing day 2 of maintenance classes. Not sure why they were here, but I’m sure there’s some connection with Mr. and Mrs. O.

And as ballet has always been for me, my good day yesterday was followed by a humbling one, which is really frustrating because you want to show people who are watching class that you actually can dance … which at times today it didn’t seem that I could.

My turns, which were better yesterday, weren’t there today, which turned out to be a bad thing because Mrs. O turned today’s class into a turn class. Pirouettes? Where were those doubles from yesterday? Arabesque turns? I’m betting the leg was bent quite a few times. Surprisingly though, my attitude turns turned out better than expected.

And our petite allegro combination turned out to be a mess, and not just for me. A lot of the company girls struggled with it, too. My biggest problem? Muscle memory. We start so many petite allegros with a glissade, especially in Mr. O’s class, that it’s hard to start with anything else.

Today’s combination should not have been the beast that it was: Assemble’, glissade, assemble’, assemble’, glissade assemble’, changement, changement, soubre saut. But I botched pretty good, as did about half the class.

My saving grace is usually the grande allegro, but not today. Three sissones followed by a pas de bouree, saute (fi-e?), glissade assemble’. My sissones sucked, I kept botching the pas de bouree, which through my time off for the saute.

The one thing I know I did right? The grande jetes at the end of class, although I know my arms were probably a mess.

I suppose it was suppose to be tough today. It is after all, company audition week. They need to find out who can dance what for the roles they’ll have to cast this year.

It was frustrating, but still fun.

I think it would have helped if I didn’t feel like I was dancing on tired legs.

The good thing about today?

There is a class tomorrow.

Another shot at redemption.

Will there be Trocks watching? I actually hope so, or people who can dance.

Why?

Because if you want to perform on stage, you’ve got to prove you can dance in front of an audience.

2 responses to “Not a good day for Trocks to be watching

  • The Dancing Rider

    Ah, yes. I so recoginzed that desire to show whoever is watching that you do actually kjnow how. I felt this many times in skating! Usually to my chagrin, and almost without fail it would then be an “off day”.

    And I think you are correct. You DO have to be able to dance in front of an audience if you want to perform. I hope the Trocks are back tomorrow! 🙂

  • RO

    Nice entry! Good luck with tomorrow’s class, you’ll do well!

Leave a Reply

