Little less lame, little more duck

I have to admit I’ve been in a dance rut the past two weeks.

Not having the intensive at the end of the summer rainbow, I do admit, has had something to do with it. That was my thing to shoot for. But the main reason has been stress at work, stress at home.

I know, ballet is supposed to be wonderful for stress. And it is.

But for most of my adult life, I’ve worked a second-shift kind of job, 3 p.m.-11 p.m..

Mornings have never been easy on the body clock. When there has been stress at work, there’s always been this mode of staying up a little later to de-stress, and sleeping in when I normally dance in the mornings.

I skipped last Wednesday and Monday’s classes because I wanted to sleep in. Quite frankly, I just didn’t feel good either day.

I forced myself up this morning (and trust me, now that I’m back in school, there are times I’ve had to do this during the regular school year). My mind was totally mush, especially at the barre.

And I’ve mentioned before, the teacher, Vickie B., is not the kind of teacher to have on a mind is mush day. She throws too many brain teasers in her combinations.

And since there were only five of us today, I got a little more attention. Not good when you didn’t bring your A-game. Corrections galore, yeah I got them.

I fared a little better when we moved to center, although the slick spots on the floor and the humidity didn’t really help. My shoes were sticking to the floor, which made it seem like I was moving in concrete whenever we did turns.

And since it’s been three years since I’ve really had Vickie B., I’m still seeing things I’ve haven’t done since I was a regular in her class. I mean, quick brain, remember how to do a lame duck while we’re moving in this combination (hence the title).

Somehow, I managed to make it through the class. And I felt good after it was over. As sluggish as I was, I still had fun once I started getting into things.

This summer wasn’t quite what I was hoping. I think today’s class really summed it up.

I had lofty goals. And I didn’t come close to reaching them.

But my main goal now is to just get back into a routine, to move.

I’ve decided to take class as it comes. Yeah, I want that cleaner double pirouette and move on to doing triples on a consistent basis. And yeah, I hope to be cast in company performances this year, but I’ve decided to be content with whatever I get. 

If it’s just being in Nutcracker, fine. Getting cast in Cinderella would be icing on the cake.

For now, I’ll just look forward to three open classes next week and seeing some of the company faces back from summer intensives. And taking classes from Mr. and Mrs. O again.

Maybe then I’ll get recharged.

One response to “Little less lame, little more duck

Leave a Reply

