Nothing like being called out by your teacher

One of the biggest challenges of ballet is the fact you can be at the top of your game in class one day, and then the next day, not so much.

Yesterday, everything clicked (at least for me). Today, things seemed to be doing OK, and then my mind completely shut down during a petite allegro combination. I quit halfway through. No big deal right? I’m the ol’ rec dude taking class with all of the young company kids. I’m going to get cut a little slack, right?

Not today. Not from Mrs. O.

Mrs. O: “Scott, I’ve seen you do that combination so much better. I know you can do it, where is your mind?”

Me (halfway joking): “Senior moment?”

Mrs. O: “Nuh, uh. You’re not old enough to have a senior moment.”

To be honest, I didn’t know how to respond. Company kids get called out by her every class. This the first time I’ve gotten called out by her in ages.

The silver lining is that at least I know she thinks more of me and expects more of me as a dancer. And the challenge for me is to completely redeem myself in her class on Saturday morning.

One response to “Nothing like being called out by your teacher

  • Kristen Gillette

    I hate hate hate how with ballet you can be on the top of your game and have a great class and you’re on top of the world and then the next class just nothing goes right. It happens all the time to me.

Leave a Reply

