Dancing with adults, what a novel thing

That’s how I felt when I went to the open class yesterday morning. It’s the intermediate open class and used to be one of my regular classes until I decided to pursue a second degree.

There were five adult dancers in the class of 13 … and by adult I mean the recreational, above 18 variety (the 18-and under company kids in the class qualify as adults, but you know what I mean).

It was actually nice to see some familiar faces that I haven’t seen in a while. It was also nice that I didn’t feel like the only one at the bottom of the class for once, although there were some pretty tricky combinations that made me wonder what the heck happened to the intermediate part of the class (for instance a glissade-jete’, glissade-jete’ combination that involved turning in the opposite direction and throw in a pas de bouree and a sutunu turn).

It helped to be back in a comfort zone for once in a class that includes people you do really feel like are your dancing peers.

Of course, yesterday, I pulled a double, as in went to the evening company class, which was, not surprising, absent of “adult recreational dancers” and male dancers period save me … the second part is becoming a little more of the norm with the departure of the guest artist who performed the role of Billy the Kid, and another recreational guy who moved back to Utah.

And we’re losing our two senior company guys, one to high school graduation and a theater-dance scholarship to a college in Florida; and the other received a professional contract with a company in South Carolina.

So, it was just me and the company girls in the evening class. I thought about skipping, to be honest, but I found out an old college friend died of cancer. Ballet for me is a very healing thing. I needed to dance.

And, shockingly, I felt I danced better in the evening company class, which included more work Susan K’s school sketch piece (which is dedicated to a family who recently lost a child). Two of the girls in the piece were absent … so once again I filled in for one of the missing girls. If I keep filling in, I will know this piece pretty well.

It’s a beautiful piece, a sort of an adagio dance piece. And considering it came at the end of what turned out to be an emotional day, being able to dance in it was really what I needed.

2 responses to “Dancing with adults, what a novel thing

Leave a Reply

