Much better on the second night

As usual, the second night of rehearsals during production week went a lot smoother. The opening dance went much better (the lighting changed somewhat, which made it a little more seeable). I kept balance tonight, and no collisions, thank goodness.

Still got to work on my death scenes, and this horse step we do (sort of a small saute followed by three steps in demi pointe). And I felt a little better tonight about being in character (I concentrated a little too much on the dance steps last night).

I’m looking forward to polishing things off tomorrow night, which is dress rehearsal, which I’m hoping we’ll still have considering there is a severe weather threat. Brings back memories of my first non-Nutcracker role, Friar Lawrence in Romeo and Juliet four years ago. We had to spend about 45 minutes in a place called “the pit.”, a storage room underneath the concert hall during a tornado warning.

Tonight, I watched from the seats the other acts in our spring performance. It’s going to be really good. Our junior company is doing a religious piece called “Living Tears” which looks really worshipful and energetic.

We also have a guest performing Dying Swan. Her name is Dede Barfield, and she’s close to my age. She used to be a principal with Pennsylvania Ballet (where she was one of Mr. O’s partners). She’s now the ballet mistress at Ballet San Antonio (which is also where our guest artist performing Billy the Kid is from) and is absolutely beautiful performing the role.

And the company is also performing the Balanchine Tribute, which is one of my favorite pieces. It totally rocked from what I saw.

And I’m totally fired up about our piece, Billy the Kid. It’s a lot of fun, so worth my tired legs right now.

2 responses to “Much better on the second night

Leave a Reply

