One of my best classes ever?

Sometimes one of those ballet classes where everything clicks catches you on a night when you least expect it.

Because I had to move around a crazy work schedule to make Billy the Kid rehearsals, Wednesday night’s class with Mr. O was my first since Saturday. I was expecting to be a little rusty. I was expecting a little soreness.

What I got was the most consistent class I’ve had in a long time. It may have been one of my best turn classes ever. I did several clean pirouettes during combinations. Usually, I do a few, but not with as much consistency.

And petite allegro? Usually my arch-nemesis? I beat jetes. I beat the assembles. And usually my jetes (beats or not) are a mess. And I managed to stay with the music.

And we had one of the coolest grande allegro combinations ever. I stayed on the music, traveled more, had more height (which is important if you’re a guy) and nailed it, especially on the last go-round.

The reason it was a surprising night? I had to turn in a major graphic design project that morning and a major test in marketing that afternoon. I was up at the crack of dawn because of it (I’m pursuing a second degree in addition to working a wacky 40-hour a week schedule).

We also had our first rehearsal of Billy the Kid in more than a week. The dance parts I did as well as I’ve done since we started rehearsal. But I had a senior moment the first run through of the fight scene I’m in right before I get killed the first time. But I did OK the rest of the run throughs, and I’m finally beginning to recognize all of my music cues. Less than a month away, can’t wait!

Had class again yesterday morning. As is the case, I’m up-and-down with my turns. Not as good as class as Wednesday night, but still a consistent class for me. I didn’t struggle nearly as much. We had a wacky, complicated grande allegro that took me a few turns to finally figure out. But I walked away reasonably pleased with how I did.

The neat thing is I get to dance again tonight. And rehearse again tonight. And dance again Saturday morning. Complete dance bliss.

 

4 responses to “One of my best classes ever?

  • disneyballerina

    Sounds like you’re kicking butt!! Keep up the good work 🙂

  • legalballerina

    Good job! I love when I have good turn nights. They whole day could be shit, but if I can turn on a dime my day significantly improves! Ballet can be so touch and go sometimes, I wish I had more good days then bad. Oh well, I guess that’s what makes them so special, am I right?!?! Bravo to u!!

    • loveballet89

      That’s the challenge of ballet. I can have a great turn day in class and think I can do it all the time. And for some reason, the next day they’re a mess. I have good days, OK days and bad days where I struggle in everything. But a bad day in ballet is better than no day, at least for me.

Leave a Reply

