Anyone else have a competitive streak in ballet class?

Sorry it’s been so long since I’ve blogged. Work, college, being a single parent, rehearsals have a way of consuming what little free time I have.

But I have to say that I am enjoying Billy the Kid rehearsals. This time next month, we’ll be entering production week, which is one of the coolest weeks for a dancer who loves to perform.

The choreography is finally complete. It’s really been fun watching it come together, something I’ve rarely experienced with my earlier parts, which were minor enough that my rehearsals were late in the game and everything else was pretty much complete.

But not this time. In Billy the Kid, I DANCE, I fight, I die … twice (the shortage of men in ballet means you end up with multiple parts). We worked yesterday on fine tuning, which we’ll continue to do until we perform it on April 12-13.

As for class, my pirouettes and turns in general have been up and down, but Mrs. O pretty much diagnosed my problems yesterday in class. One of my biggest problems? I try to “steer” with my upper body during turns, which may explain why I have trouble with consistency with my pirouettes (well that, and an amazing inability to SPOT). It was even more evident when we’re doing arabesque turns (which are the scourge of my existence). Mrs.O also pointed out I pull my arms in when turning.

I’ve got to break those habits.

But on the positive side, my jetes are beginning to look better. And I’m able to beat them with more consistency.

And I’ve discovered I have a competitive side. As the old, rec dude dancing in company class, I’ve always resigned myself to the fact that I’ll always be the remedial one in class. But out of nowhere comes another slightly younger old rec dude who has slightly better skills than I have … although I skill him in musicality and in combination memorization.

I normally welcome other guys in class. Usually they are so much better than I, I admire their skills and they push me. But usually they are around 20 with professional dreams. I know I’d never catch them and just learn from them.

But this guy, there is a part of me that wants to prove I’m a better dancer. Maybe I feel a little threatened that he may take the parts I’m used to in Nutcracker or other parts in ballet. I never thought I’d feel that way. It’s almost comical.

 

2 responses to “Anyone else have a competitive streak in ballet class?

  • legalballerina

    Totally normal. The General tells me it is good to compete with other dancers that are in your skill level. Motivates you to work harder and become a better dancer. Me and Ms. Disney compete all of the time. We can’t help it! Makes me proud to see her improve too. But, it also compels me to step my game up. She can’t completely blow past me! That would stink!!!

  • rmedina49

    I think I go through that a lot too.. Its what makes you better, as long as you keep it in a positive light

Leave a Reply

