Biggest dancing part I’ve ever had

I have to say I really didn’t know what I was in for Sunday during Billy the Kid rehearsal. I’ve already mentioned the rehearsal I attended where my part really wasn’t a big part and how fascinating it was about the coming together of the choreography.

Other than Nutcracker, where I’ve been part of the Chinese dance and finale, just about all of my parts have been character roles with little dancing required.

I really didn’t know what to expect, other than learning in the first rehearsal that my character (as it turns out I’m actually playing two characters) gets killed by Billy the Kid.

Found out Sunday, my role is a lot more extensive than maybe I was expecting. I dance (ballet!) in the opening going west scene. I’ll be honest, I was really stoked. I dance in a short dance (the opening of the town scene) entirely in releve’ (mimicking riding a horse). Then, of course, there is a short square dance I’m in (Billy the Kid is seems part ballet, part barn dance at times, but really cool).

And I’m in an intense fight scene in which I accidently kill Billy the Kid’s mother and is killed (by knifing) by the Kid himself (also intense) to end the scene. I play another person (a jailer, I think) who is also killed by Billy the Kid, but that part I haven’t rehearsed yet.

I’ve enjoyed playing Friar Lawrence in Romeo and Juliet, and a priest who avoids being killed in Dracula in a very intense scene. But dancing-wise, both did not come close to this part (or parts). 

Can’t wait for my next rehearsal on Saturday (three hours, which will follow a 90-minute regular class). It’s going to be fun!

Sorry it’s been a while since I’ve posted. Two midterms are coming up. We’re trying out a hair-pulling system of doing things at work. And rehearsals are picking up.

Leave a Reply

